Headteacher's Newsletter Friday 11th December 2015

Headteacher's Newsletter Friday 20th November 2015

Headteacher's Newsletter Friday 13th November 2015

Headteacher's Newsletter Friday 6th November 2015

School Health Service

Headteacher's Newsletter Friday 23rd October 2015

Headteacher's Newsletter Friday 16th October 2015

Headteacher's Newsletter Friday 9th October 2015

Headteacher's Newsletter Friday 2nd October 2015

Year 6 Open Evening Feedback

Prospectus 2015

Thurrock Education Awards 2015

Headteacher's Newsletter Friday 25th September 2015

Recruitment Event

Thurrock Trailblazer Film

Year 6 Open Evening 2015

Headteacher's Newsletter Friday 18th September 2015

Headteacher's Newsletter Friday 11th September 2015

Headteacher's Newsletter Friday 4th September 2015

2015 GCSE Results

2015 GCSE Results Press Release

Headteacher's Newsletter Friday 17th July 2015

Headteacher's Newsleter Friday 10th July 2015

Headteacher's Newsletter Friday 3rd July 2015

Headteacher's Newsletter Friday 26th June 2015

Headteacher's Newsletter Friday 19th June 2015

Headteacher's Newsletter Friday 12th June 2015

Headteacher's Newsletter Friday 5th June 2015

Headteacher's Newsletter Friday 22nd May 2015

Headteacher's Newsletter Friday 15th May 2015

Headteacher's Newsletter Friday 8th May 2015

Headteacher's Newsletter Friday 1st May 2015

Headteacher's Newsletter Friday 24th Apr 2015

Headteacher's Newsletter Friday 17th Apr 2015

Headteacher's Newsletter Friday 27th Mar 2015

Headteacher's Newsletter Friday 20th Mar 2015

Headteacher's Newsletter Friday 13th Mar 2015

Promoting British Values

Headteacher's Newsletter Friday 6th Mar 2015

Headteacher's Newsletter Friday 27th Feb 2015

Headteacher's Newsletter Friday 13th Feb 2015

Headteacher's Newsletter Friday 6th Feb 2015

Safer Internet Day Tuesday 10th Feb 2015

Thurrock Teaching School Alliance

Headteacher's Newsletter Friday 30th Jan 2015

East London Teaching School Alliance

Headteacher's Newsletter Friday 23rd Jan 2015

Headteacher's Newsletter Friday 16th Jan 2015

Headteacher's Newsletter Friday 9th Jan 2015

  • “Teaching is good” – Ofsted 2013
  • “Teaching is good” – Ofsted 2013
  • "The quality of teaching is good" - Ofsted 2013
  • "The quality of teaching is good" - Ofsted 2013
  • "Pupils behave exceptionally well and are very keen to learn" - Ofsted 2013
  • "Pupils behave exceptionally well and are very keen to learn" - Ofsted 2013
  • "Outstanding teaching in a range of subjects" - Ofsted 2013
  • "Outstanding teaching in a range of subjects" - Ofsted 2013
  • "There is an overwhelmingly positive attitude in the school" - Ofsted 2013
  • "There is an overwhelmingly positive attitude in the school" - Ofsted 2013
  • "There is a very prominent culture of respect throughout the school" - Ofsted 2013
  • "There is a very prominent culture of respect throughout the school" - Ofsted 2013
  • "Pupils' spiritual, moral, cultural and social development is promoted very effectively" - Ofsted 2013
  • "Pupils' spiritual, moral, cultural and social development is promoted very effectively" - Ofsted 2013
  • "Positive relationships encourage high levels of motivation and commitment from pupils" - Ofsted 2013
  • "Relationships between different members of the school community are a notable strength" - Ofsted 2013
  • "Pupils work with one another sensibly and to very good effect" - Ofsted 2013
  • "Pupils confidently use key terms" - Ofsted 2013
  • "Literacy is promoted well" - Ofsted 2013
  • "Pupils are polite and courteous to each other and to adults" - Ofsted 2013
  • "Pupils are polite and courteous to each other and to adults" - Ofsted 2013
  • "The school is very successful at promoting reading" - Ofsted 2013
Welcome from the Head

We are proud to be successfully empowering young women to realise their full potential.  We achieve this through a stimulating curriculum that is tailored to challenge each individual.  Quality teaching and enriching opportunities also contribute towards developing and shaping students’ individual aptitudes and interests.

We are committed to providing an inspiring learning environment that is rooted in our Catholic tradition.  Our core values of unity, service, work and prayer underpin all that we do at Grays Convent High School.

‘Inspiring ambition and achieving excellence’ is at the heart of our community.  Embracing a culture of high expectations, we expect our students to be ready to learn, to work hard and to take pride in their own and their school’s achievements.

GRAYS CONVENT GIRLS EXCEL WITH BEST EVER GCSE RESULTS

Grays Convent High School, Thurrock is celebrating its best ever GCSE results with a phenomenal 70% of students achieving 5+A*-C grades including English and Maths, smashing both local and national averages. With exceptional achievements across the board, 28% of the grades were the coveted A*/A grades and an impressive 56% were the top A*-B grades.
The all girls’ school in Thurrock, Essex has excelled across English, Maths and Science with 100% of students achieving A*-C grades in English Literature,  97% in English Language, 82% in Science and 77% in Mathematics. In addition, 95% of students studying History achieved A*-C grades; both English & History results increased despite national fears both subjects would decline. Following a rigorous curriculum overhaul initiated by the school’s new Headteacher Mrs Johnson, the school has seen a significant increase in the number of students achieving the academic EBacc pathway to 45%, over 20% above the 2014 national average.
The school are exceptionally proud of their top achiever, Morgan Brady who secured a full house with 11 A*s.  Other notable achievements included:
Tishana NYAMUTSAMBA: 8 A*s and 3 As;
Sarah: WOODBURN : 6 A* 5As and 1 B;
Chidinma ECHANAH: 5 A* and 6 As and
Eleanor BAKER 5 A* 4 As and 2 Bs.
The school was joined on exam results day by Councillor John Kent, Leader of Thurrock Council and Carmel Littleton, Director of Children Services. 
The school’s Headteacher, Mrs Johnson commented on the results,
“I am absolutely thrilled with this year’s GCSE results. This is the best year in the school’s history and the fact we have significantly exceeded both local and national averages is a major bonus. The achievements across the board, particularly in some of the more challenging subjects, demonstrate just how talented our girls are and how committed our teachers are to empowering our students to succeed and realise their potential. Congratulations Class of 2014 ! ”

Contact:
Mrs P Johnson
Grays Convent High School
23 College Avenue
Essex
RM17 5UX
T: 01375 376173
We invite you to our Open Evening on Thursday 1st October 2015 • 6pm - 8pm

Press Release